The Republics and Regions of the Russian Federation

The Republics and Regions of the Russian Federation

A Guide to Politics, Policies, and Leaders

Book - 2000
Rate this:
Russia is divided into seven federal districts encompassing 89 units -- regions (oblasts), territories (krais), and republics. As central power has weakened, the importance of these units and their local leadership has increased commensurately.

This work brings together in one volume all basic political, economic, and demographic data on every territorial unit of the Russian Federation, its local government structure, and electoral history current through the spring 2000 elections and the summer 2000 reorganization. Each entry includes an extensive profile of the president, governor, or prime minister, and an overview of local political trends, policies, economy, and business conditions.

Publisher: Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, [2000]
Copyright Date: ©2000
ISBN: 9780765605597
Branch Call Number: 947.003 R299
Characteristics: xxvii, 679 pages ; illustrations, maps ; 29 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MCPL

To Top