Nothing to See Here

Nothing to See Here

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Lillian and Madison were unlikely, yet inseparable friends at their boarding school. Then Lillian had to leave the school unexpectedly in the wake of a scandal, and they have barely spoken since. Years later, Lillian gets a letter from Madison pleading for her help. Madison's twin stepkids are moving in, and she wants Lillian to be their caretaker. However, there's a catch: the twins spontaneously combust when they get agitated. Lillian is convinced Madison is pulling her leg, but it's the truth. Thinking of the life that has consistently disappointed her, Lillian figures she has nothing to lose. Over the course of one demanding summer, Lillian and the twins learn to trust each other while also staying out of the way of Madison's uptight husband. Surprised by her intense feelings of protectiveness she feels for them, Lillian ultimately begins to accept that she needs these strange children as much as they need her. Could this be the start of the amazing life she'd always hoped for?
Publisher: New York : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780062913463
0062913468
Branch Call Number: F WILSON
Characteristics: 254 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

“A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Klosterman and Gary Shteyngart.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Libr... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
star2014
Dec 04, 2019

Such an imaginative and original novel! The story is outrageous , funny, and at times heartbreaking. It is a tale about "trying to fit in", which I think every reader can relate to in some way.

k
KatG1983
Dec 04, 2019

One of my favourite books of the year, Nothing to See Here is funny, heart-felt and extremely well written.

l
LeeBarker
Nov 17, 2019

I’m not sure I would have read this book if I had first read a synopsis of the plot. Having only read the first few lines of various reviews, I took it up and loved every element of it. I can’t rate this novel highly enough.

lcasper Oct 24, 2019

I love Kevin Wilson's writing. He has a way of making quirky characters not only relate-able but also unforgettable. This story is about family, finding one and friendship, amongst other themes. I will tell you that once you read it, it comes back to you and you keep thinking about it. He also wrote The Family Fang.

noramw Oct 03, 2019

Funny and warm, sarcastic and weird, this is a surprising twist on love and family that I adored.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top