Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
71
3
For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world -- until the unthinkable happens.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.
ISBN: 9780735219090
0735219095
Branch Call Number: F OWENS
Characteristics: 370 pages : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Viewed with suspicion in the aftermath of a tragedy, a beautiful hermit who has survived for years in a marsh becomes targeted by unthinkable forces.

Viewed with suspicion in the aftermath of a murder, Kya Clark, who has survived alone for years in a marsh near the North Carolina coast, becomes targeted by unthinkable forces.

Viewed with suspicion in the aftermath of a tragedy, a beautiful hermit who has survived for years in a marsh becomes targeted by unthinkable forces.Want to read this in your book group? Contact Book Groups at booktalk@mymcpl.org


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING has one of the most unusual heroines I’ve encountered in literature - Kya Clark. Abandoned by her family she learns to survive on her own in the wilds of the North Carolina coast which strains credibility at times. Her story is so intertwined with the nature surrounding her that the book’s setting takes on the qualities of a secondary character. Vivid descriptions of the marshes, swamps, and their wildlife add atmosphere and symbolize what Kya’s feeling. With thought-provoking themes such as belonging, coming-of-age, love, environmental science and mystery, WHERE the CRAWDADS SING has a little for everyone - a lyrical and poignant read.

j
judymg69
Jun 20, 2019

Finding a book to read for enjoyment is easy. Finding a book that stays with you is another story. This is one of those books. It's not likely a reader will forget the story nor the characters. Contrived? Maybe. But still a story with lessons in humanity and nature, and for me, this type of book is never a waste of time.

p
peacebenow
Jun 17, 2019

If you want a book you can't put down with celebration of nature thrown in, this is a great summer read for you. Kya succeeds against all odds. What is family, friendship, love and community? Owens is a great story teller and i love her celebration of nature and it's importance in this story. The only weak point is... what if Kya was not beautiful. This seemingly was an advantage for her and also her downfall. Best not to think too much and just enjoy this book.

r
RosaReads2
Jun 11, 2019

Luxurious prose, a captivating protagonist, and an immersive setting drew me into this fantastic story. The moment I started reading, I was entranced by the perfect pacing and unique narrative. Where the Crawdads Sing will surely be one of my favorite books from this year.

d
DenisDesautels
Jun 07, 2019

I loved it! I recognize there are some opposing views but this book was entertaining and captivating. I was highly invested in the characters, the era and the southern culture. A very good read!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Jun 05, 2019

Such a good book. Perfect for fans of Kingsolver. I hope this primarily non-fiction author writes more fiction!

c
cokie28
Jun 04, 2019

This is a somewhat compelling, competently written book telling a far-fetched story about a young, abandoned girl who survives in a dangerous marsh land who grows up to be a published and respected authority on the local biome. She has a small amount of help, but it doesn't take a village, which is largely hostile. There are oddities about the book: why is Asheville mentioned, as a destination, but not Charlotte or Greensboro? And why does Kya not reach puberty until 15? But overall I liked it, kept reading to the end, and recommend it.

g
GreenDog2006
May 31, 2019

There are a few holdouts here and on Amazon finding reasons to not give this 5 stars, but taken as a whole, it's just a remarkable book. The main character Kya is unique and unforgettable, the 1950s N. Carolina coastal marshland setting so vivid I feel like I've been there, and the mystery that gradually threatens Kya's life slithers in like a snake in the swamp. I couldn't put it down.

The writing is clear and direct - no dense, flowery prose from wildlife scientist author, just a soul-deep connection to a vanishing, underappreciated landscape. Sure, the plot can be a little strained at times and there are some unresolved questions, but none of that matters. There's a mystery, but it's not the heart of the book; there's a love story, but that's not the core, either. The novel is an homage to Kya, and glows with her fierce determination to learn and survive.

Where the Crawdads sing is so multi-layered, I'm already prepared to be disappointed in the movie Reese Witherspoon has in the works and all the detail it's bound to leave out.

Hillsboro_JenniFerg May 28, 2019

Quite impressive for a debut novel! Delia Owens writes beautifully, and like a seasoned novelist. I felt fully immersed in the alluring setting, and gripping plot, wanting to return to this book time and time again!

j
JILLYJELLY
May 28, 2019

I just thought this was "meh." The writing felt a little rudimentary to me: "oh Kya, oh Tate" Every sentence had them say each other's names--was she getting paid by the word? The story is good and I liked the ending but the stellar praise is a bit overdone in my opinion!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top