Lost Letter

Lost Letter

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
A heart-breaking, heart-warming historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. For readers of The Nightingale , Lilac Girls , and Sarah's Key . Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself. Los Angeles, 1989 . Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall. A beautiful, poignant and devastating novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Penguin Publishing Group, 2017.
ISBN: 9780399185694
0399185690
Characteristics: 1 online resource ()
text file

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

A young apprentice works secretly for the Austrian resistance in World War II and resolves to save the fiery daughter of his Jewish stamp engraver master, a story that is found decades later by a divorced descendant who investigates an unusual stamp on an old love letter.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
Tica77
Feb 06, 2019

I really enjoyed this tale set during World War II but told in the 20th century. It was so interesting discovering the use of stamps in secret communications by the Germans. It reads well and quickly. A good read.

a
Aunt_Jess
Jan 03, 2019

This book bridged an appreciation of historical fiction and philately.

f
fangger
Dec 10, 2018

A nice read. I found myself enjoying both the eras that the story moved back and forth between.

m
maipenrai
Oct 22, 2018

No other format available.

3
3je82rs9
Oct 14, 2017

Great story. Fun, loving, happy ending

l
lgraf
Oct 02, 2017

What a fascinating book based on historical fact!
Worth reading!

r
readinJC
Sep 24, 2017

Although the premise of the story was a good one, I felt the writing wasn't that smooth. A quick read, with interesting twists.

ArapahoeKati Jul 24, 2017

A nice WWII historical novel that doesn't so much focus on the war (and no mention of the Holocaust) so if you're a bit "over" WWII, this might be a nice way to ease back in. Two dual narratives keep the plot moving.

l
lilypad_1
Jul 22, 2017

I agree with above comments, I have read a lot about WWll survivors and resistors but still found it compelling. I do not enjoy chapters back and forth between time periods. A nice little romance included and a mystery, what's not to like? A little far fetched for non-fiction readers.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Jul 16, 2017

A nice WWII historical fiction/romance story centered around the art of stamp engraving and lost loved ones. More about the relationships of the characters and just a bit about some resistance efforts. Does not delve into the atrocities of the war. I'm not a fan of chapters alternating between time periods. It interrupts the flow of the story. I much prefer a nice chronological flow. Good pick when you're in the mood for some light historical fiction.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top