The Burning Wire

The Burning Wire

Large Print - 2010
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
Quadriplegic forensic criminologist Lincoln Rhyme leads his team--NYPD detective Amelia Sachs, officer Ron Pulaski, and FBI agent Fred Dellray--to find and stop a killer who uses electricity as modus operandi. Meanwhile, Rhyme is consulting on another high-profile investigation in Mexico with a most coveted quarry in his crosshairs: the hired killer known as the Watchmaker, one of the few criminals to have eluded Rhyme's net.
Publisher: Detriot, Mich : Thorndike Press, [2010]
Edition: Large print edition.
Copyright Date: ©2010
ISBN: 9781410424747
141042474X
Branch Call Number: F
Characteristics: 720 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
momlady
Feb 18, 2012

Deaver researched his book's electrical backdrop and spent time in the book sharing his unusual knowledge. I found it fascinating and it really enhanced the story, keeping it more multidimensional and compelling than (yawn) just another thriller. I gauge books by how long it takes to forget them, the worst take only a few days; the good ones, like this one, keep me thinking for a long time.

j
jredekop007
Oct 24, 2011

It's just not good. The whole electricity theme is Deaver trying to be creative, but it really just comes out as gimmicky. Deaver has written more than a couple great books, but this one's an absolute dud. I had to drag myself through it.

s
sheenat
Aug 23, 2011

As far as a Rhyme novel, I felt that this was a slightly weaker product. Good story line and nice characterization don't fail to carry the reader through to the end though. Overall a good summer read

e
ENFPWOMAN
Jun 22, 2011

Really enjoyed this one.

Lincoln Rhymes and Amelia Sachs are an amazing team in so many ways... very well rounded complex characters. I especially like that they live their lives with thought, in perspective and with all the idiosyncrasies of intelligent adults! I learned a surprising amount about electricity... this is great (and smart) escape literature!

d
DL7173
Nov 22, 2010

I usually enjoy this author.
However, most of this book seems mainly for males interested in details of electricity, the grid, flash arcs, wiring, explosions, fires and such. Those details may be clever but for me they detracted rather than added to the plot. I persevered, hoping it would improve (and it did a little near the very end)
but at 700 plus pages it was a tedious read and not worth my time

n
novel
Jul 03, 2010

Lots of twists and turns. Fans of Rhyme and Sachs will enjoy this book. The conclusion is surprising.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top